Feature Artist: Dinch

Writer: Anna Brasier

Photography: Dinch Hasimoglu

 

Dincer Hasimoglu (Dinch) is a twenty-five-year old emerging artist who explores varied creative pursuits and uses his art to understand life. Through his illustrations and paintings, he explores themes of transformation and renewal.

Dinch grew up in the northern suburbs of Melbourne and went to school in Essendon. Since graduating from Victoria University where he studied graphic design, Dinch completed an internship at the university’s Design Studio, which is responsible for VU’s in-house design work, as well as a few external clients.

Tell me about yourself.

I have been drawing for as long as I can remember.

I’m an illustrator, graphic designer, and a bit of a videographer. I always preferred art, rather than physical sports. I could never kick or throw a ball, and even now, I struggle to do so. I do however enjoy going for long runs and I’ve recently taken up swimming.

I’m an extroverted introvert — if that makes sense? I think that says a lot about the sort of art I produce. I love spending time with my family and friends, and I equally enjoy my personal time. Spending most of my time at home doesn’t bother me. I’m occupied with drawings, music, or other fun stuff like cleaning, mowing the lawn, changing light bulbs (haha).

My biggest achievement so far is going to New York on my own and spending four months getting to know myself and the big city.

What influences and inspires you?

I like music a lot when I’m working. I think there’s something about [its] beats that really open up a world to different strokes and pattern work when I am drawing. I’ll be bopping up and down as I draw; I get right into it with music. The music I listen to acts as a soundtrack for my imagination and it has pushed me through some of my best drawing sessions.

I’m interested in product design and I’m obsessed with shape and form in kitchen appliances, technology and furniture. All of this is evident in the sort of stuff I draw. I turn them into little robots and things.

I’m not a movie buff — yet — but films certainly inspire me. Especially movie trailers; they’re always so enticing. I think about myself as the actor, the character, or the director. I think about the camera angles, techniques and the editing in these movies and I also think about how I can apply that into my video work. If I were to choose a genre for film, I’d say action. Movies like Kill Bill, Charlie’s Angels, Pulp Fiction, and Machete Kills — I’m obsessed with the grindhouse cinema style evident in these films.

In PERSONAL GROWTH (PG) you reflect on life and transformation. How would you describe PG?

PERSONAL GROWTH is a puzzle piece of a bigger a picture I’m trying to put together for myself. I think that’s the best way to describe it. It’s about risk-taking and embracing the experiences that come with it. I look at PG for motivation now. And I really tried to make it motivational for others too. It’s also an introduction into my world.

I think personal growth is forever. I think everything we take a chance on gives us some sort of resilience. Things can be scary and overwhelming when we are faced with challenges, but on the other side of that fear is nothing but good news. I need to remind myself of this often, because I can be very nervous when I’m faced with the unknown.

Has the making of PG transformed you as an artist? How so?

It most definitely has. I felt different within the first few hours of sharing the drawings and video. There was definitely a feeling of elation. It took a lot of time and energy to do the drawings, film the bits and pieces and then to execute the whole thing. Leading up to it though, there were many times where I wanted to pull the plug. So to go through all of that, I definitely feel more confident in myself and the work I do.

I’m not a video editor by trade, and I wanted things in there that required video editing skills. So the challenge was to learn how to make those extra bits from scratch, for example, the effects in the credits. I transformed in terms of my skill level, to some degree. There is still a lot to learn.

Tell me about the sub-titles in PG.

I love subtitles. I turn them on when I watch movies all the time. I wanted my audience to know about my Turkish background. I wanted my folks in Turkey to understand what I was saying. It’s an important part of my identity and personal growth. I’m starting to understand more about my parents’ migration to Australia, and how I fitted into their lives as a child growing up. The subtitles reflect the challenges and benefits of being bilingual. With mum’s interpreting skills, we were able to translate the transcripts with emails and phone calls back and forth while I was in New York. Subtitles add cinematic value too.

Eric Carle speaks on PG. How did this come about?

When I was doing my research into The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Eric Carle, I found videos of him talking about his process in coming up with the story. He talks about some of his own experiences and thoughts as a child growing up. Listening to his voice and listening to him talk about the hidden messages in his book was a pivotal moment for me. It was a bit emotional, actually. I grabbed some of the dialogue in these videos and used them in my film. But I urge everyone who is a fan of picture book art, or The Very Hungry Caterpillar to watch the full interviews with Eric Carle.

What kind of environment do you work best in?

I don’t have a studio, but I am definitely working towards having my own space within in my house to sit and create in. At the moment, I just work anywhere that has a comfortable table and chair as well as a friendly atmosphere. I usually work on a dining table, or in front of the television at home. In New York, I was doing all of my drawings in cafe’s. In fact, I spent most of my time and money in cafes because I was drawing and editing my video whilst in New York. I work best alone, even if it is in a crowded place, as long as I can zone out to music on my iPod, I’m good.

What is your favourite medium?

My favourite medium is fine liner pens or felt tip pens. I’ve been illustrating with this particular style since I was eighteen. I’ve taught myself to correct my mistakes by drawing over of them because there is no eraser involved, so it’ll be interesting to see how I draw if I were to use pencils [again], and having the freedom to erase mistakes and start over. I will have to merge the two at some stage.

What is the best part of creating art?

The best part of creating art is the learning process. Teaching yourself new techniques along the way and watching your art evolve over time is a great thing. The evolution doesn’t stop. Creating art is like recording fragments of your memories. I love looking back on my drawings and reflecting on what influenced them at that particular time.

You credit other art as a major inspiration to your work. What are you immersing yourself into now?

Kendrick Lamar was a huge part of this; I debuted his album during a long drive to Phillip Island and I was drawn into every track. He actually just dropped another album, which I’m listening to at the moment. I’m listening to a lot of Dick Dale, the king of the surf guitar. You find his music in the films I mentioned earlier. Right now, these are the cuts I’m tuned into during my drives and drawing sessions.

What are you working on now?

Right now, I’m just drawing into my sketch books. I’m looking at a few different themes I want to explore through my next series of drawings. My experiences in New York have given me food for thought, that’s for sure.

What advice would you share with aspiring/emerging artists?

I’m an emerging artist myself, so I’m still learning. My advice to any aspiring or emerging artist would be to make and create the things you like and love. I find that paying homage to the things I find interesting makes creating a fun process. Making ample time to practice art is important for maintaining skills. It’s as important as drinking water to stay hydrated. Don’t compare yourself to the awesome stuff you find on Instagram (haha). I do this sometimes and I find that it gets in the way of my confidence, and remind yourselves that feeding your passion for creating is always worth it.

Screenshot 2016-04-20 13.54.33

Leave a Reply

